Economic Development Pillar

The G21 Economic Development Pillar works collaboratively to improve the region’s prosperity by becoming a globally significant competitor in industry sectors of high comparative advantage, generating and attracting skilled workers and business investment within a sustainable business environment. The Pillar supports activities that:

  • expand current industries and foster new and emerging industries
  • build enabling infrastructure
  • develop a capable workforce
  • market the region.

Priority Projects

The G21 Board has endorsed seven Economic Development Pillar projects as ‘G21 Priority Projects’:

Latest Pillar Activity

With the election of a Labor State Government, G21 looks forward to the fulfilment of the pre-election commitments supporting ten of our Priority Projects:
An update from the October 2018 Economic Development Pillar update.
The Federal Coalition Government commits $154 million to a Geelong City Deal joint state-federal funding package – which includes a complete transformation of the Twelve Apostles precinct and the Shipwreck Coast.

Working Groups

The Economic Development Pillar has Working Groups of experts who meet to discuss and plan specific Pillar Projects.

For more information

or fill in our contact form.

Pillar Leadership

Cr Bruce Harwood (Chair)
City of Greater Geelong
David Peart (Deputy Chair)
Executive Officer
Geelong Manufacturing Council
Stephanie Beitzel
Chief Executive Officer
Technology Geelong
Felicity Bolitho
Executive Unit Team Leader
Golden Plains Shire
David Boyle
G21 Agribusiness Forum
Elaine Carbines
Chief Executive Officer
G21 Geelong Region Alliance
Helena Charles
Senior Economic Development Officer
Golden Plains Shire
Ed Coppe
Ed Coppe Wealth Management
Jennifer Cromarty
Creative Geelong
Paul Davis
General Manager
Andrew Elliot
Operation Manager
Avalon Airport
Tim Ellis
Manager Economic Development & Events
City of Greater Geelong
Roger Grant
Executive Director
Tourism Greater Geelong and the Bellarine
Tim Head
Business Development Manager
Daphne Henderson
General Manager Finance & Corporate Services
Kardinia Park Trust
Sharon Kerlin
Project Manager Skills & Jobs
The Gordon
Brett Luxford
Director Investment & Attraction
City of Greater Geelong
Stewart Lyons
WT Partnership
Peter McCracken
Regional Manager
Industry Capability Network
Cr Carol McGregor
Surf Coast Shire
Kevin Murphy
Executive Director Facilities Services
Deakin University
Erica Naughtin
Manager Communication & Engagement
Deakin University
Louise Osborne
R&D Partnerships & Strategic Relationships Analyst
Cr Boyce Pizzey
Borough of Queenscliffe
Cr Chris Potter
Colac Otway Shire
Kathy Reid
Linux Australia
Shane Royle
Trade & Property Manager
Geelong Port
Anne-Marie Ryan
Executive Officer
Geelong Region Local Learning & Employment Network
Vanessa Schernickau
Chief Executive Officer
Great Ocean Road Coast Committee
Cr Owen Sharkey
Golden Plains Shire
Shank Somers
Investment & Trade Specialist Professional Services
Regional Development Victoria
Cr Trent Sullivan
City of Greater Geelong
Matt Taylor
Manager Economic Development & Tourism
Surf Coast Shire
Kathy Timmins
Manager Investment & Trade
Regional Development Victoria
Bernadette Uzelac
Chief Executive Officer
Geelong Chamber of Commerce
Colin Vernon
Geelong Trades Hall
Lauren Watt
Finance Manager
Geelong Cats
Bill Winter
PointNorth Consulting