G21 Pillars

The G21 Pillar Groups are at the heart of all the work G21 undertakes, driving ideas from within the community.

There are eight Pillar Groups based on our region’s key priorities:

  • Arts, Heritage & Culture
  • Economic Development
  • Education & Training
  • Environment
  • Health & Wellbeing
  • Planning & Services
  • Sport & Recreation
  • Transport.

Pillars are made up of key decision makers and subject experts within the specific Pillar categories.

They volunteer their time and expertise and meet on a regular basis, working to identify and drive projects that will contribute to the implementation of the 'G21 Geelong Region Plan’ to improve the regional community.  There are in total about 300 Pillar group members.

G21 also has several working groups and taskforces to address key issues confronting our region. Examples include Engineering Network Cluster, G21 Roads Working Group and Renewable Energy & Emissions Working Group. These groups usually include Pillar and non-Pillar members.

For information about the membership and activities of a specific Pillar, click on the relevant colour-coded 'box' below.