Geelong Council candidate information

News

PEOPLE thinking of running for election to the City of Greater Geelong Council on 28 October have a number of information sessions to help them.

GENERAL INFORMATION SESSION - Presented by the Municipal Association of Victoria

  • Tuesday 8 August, 5.30pm – 7.30pm Springdale Neighbourhood Centre, Drysdale
  • Tuesday 15 August, 5.30pm – 7.30pm Grovedale Community Hub
  • Wednesday 23 August, 1.00pm–3.00pm and 6.00pm–8.00pm City Hall
  • Monday 28 August, 1.00pm – 3.00pm Wathaurong Aboriginal Co-operative, North Geelong
  • Tuesday 5 September, 1.00pm – 3.00pm The Fort Youth Centre, Corio

The sessions include:

  • Introduction to local government, the Local Government Act, role clarity, conflict of interest
  • What’s expected of a councillor
  • How to become a councillor – including eligibility to stand, wards, nominating as a candidate, campaigning legalities, voting system
  • Questions and answer session

ENCOURAGING WOMEN TO STAND FOR COUNCIL INFO SESSION - Presented by Women in Local Democracy (WILD)

Sessions will be held at Courthouse Youth Arts, 60 Little Malop St, Geelong

  • Wednesday 2 August, 7.00pm – 9.00pm
  • Wednesday 9 August, 7.00pm – 9.00pm
  • Wednesday 16 August, 4.30pm – 6.30pm
  • Wednesday 30 August, 7.00pm – 9.00pm

CANDIDATE INFO SESSION - Presented by City of Greater Geelong

Overview of City of Greater Geelong's council business program and key priorities

  • Wednesday 13 September, 6.30pm Council Chamber, City Hall

ELECTION PROCESS INFO SESSION - Presented by Victorian Electoral Commission

  • Tuesday 19 September, 6.30pm Council Chamber, City Hall

TO REGISTER YOUR ATTENDANCE FOR ANY WORKSHOP OR INFO SESSION:

Email cduadmin@geelongcity.vic.gov.au or call 5272 5096.

For more details go to www.geelongaustralia.com.au/council

FOR MORE INFO ON BECOMING A COUNCILLOR:

www.standforcouncil.com.au
Email standforcouncil@mav.asn.au or call 9667 5555
Victorian Electoral Commission: www.vec.vic.gov.au

Source: A City of Greater Geelong information brochure