Transport Pillar

The G21 Transport Pillar supports efforts to:

  • grow the region’s reputation, capability and capacity as the leading transport hub for south east Australia
  • improve community and visitor access to services, educational and vocational opportunities and lifestyle activities
  • improve the amenity and safety of transport infrastructure, and reduce the environmental impact of transport activity.

Priority Projects

The G21 Board has endorsed two Transport Pillar projects as ‘G21 Priority Projects’:

Pillar Projects

The G21 Transport Pillar projects support the objectives of ‘The G21 Geelong Region Plan – A sustainable growth strategy’ and are owned and delivered by a variety of regional organisations. Current Projects are:

Latest Pillar Activity

The Great Ocean Road at Mt Defiance will be closed to traffic May 28-31 to undertake urgent upgrades.
G21 calls on the Legislative Council not to block the West Gate Tunnel Project.
The Victorian Government has launched a program targeting safety of international drivers on our roads.

Working Groups

The Transport Pillar has Working Groups of experts who meet to discuss and plan specific Pillar Projects.

  • Bicycle Infrastructure Group
  • G21 Public Transport Reference Group
  • G21 Roads Working Group
  • Warrnambool - Geelong Rail Line Service Working Group

For more information

or fill in our contact form.

Pillar Leadership

Karly Lovell (Pillar Leader)
Operations Manager
Deakin University
Greg Anders
Director Assets & Amenity
Golden Plains Shire
Melinda Button
General Manager Corporate Affairs
Elaine Carbines
Chief Executive Officer
G21 - Geelong Region Alliance
Stuart Christie
Commercial Manager
Victorian Regional Channels Authority
Cr Martin Duke
Surf Coast Shire
Cr David Evans
Golden Plains Shire
Hadden Finger
Business Development Manager
Regional Development Victoria
Steven Fisher
Quality Assurance Officer
Geelong Taxi Network
Greg Fletcher
Manager Health & Community Services
Colac Otway Shire
Deryck Gall
General Manager
Hoare Bros
Justin Giddings
Chief Executive Officer
Avalon Airport
David Greaves
Acting Works Manager
Golden Plains Shire
Stuart Hansen
Projects & Contracts Engineer
Borough of Queenscliffe
Cr Nathan Hansford
Golden Plains Shire
Mark Hearsch
Senior Transport Planner BSW
Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
David Hill
Manager Transport Infrastructure Policy
Department of State Development, Business & Innovation
Anne Howard
General Manager Governance & Infrastructure
Surf Coast Shire
Simon Jackson
Senior Projects Officer Enterprise Geelong
City of Greater Geelong
Lenny Jenner
Chief Executive Officer
Borough of Queenscliffe
Mark Koliba
Regional Director SW Region
Cr Eddy Kontelj
City of Greater Geelong
Andrew Korr
Senior Service Planner, Regional Victoria Network
Department Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Robert Kuebler
Disability Advisory Committee
City of Greater Geelong
David Lockett
Branch Manager - Geelong / Ballarat
K & S Freighters
Adam Lorensene
Senior Transport Planner
Transport for Victoria
Cr Jim Mason
City of Greater Geelong
Tony McGann
General Manager Infrastructure and Services
Colac Otway Shire
Ken McNamara
Western Transport Alliance
Fiona Moran
Building Bellarine Connections Facilitator
City of Greater Geelong
Peter Nolan
Service Delivery Manager
CDC Victoria
Ashley Patten
Bike Safe Geelong
Sam Pirrotta
Manager Planning
VicRoads South Western Victoria
Cr Chris Potter
Colac Otway Shire
Kushiel Prasad
Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Shane Royle
Trades & Property Manager
Geelong Port
Fred Runia
Chief Executive Officer
Josies Transport Group
Benjamin Sangster
Service Development Manager
McHarrys Bus Service
Larissa Scanlon
Regional manager South West
Vicki Shelton
Manager Engineering Services
City of Greater Geelong
Peter Valentine
General Manager
Geelong Taxi Network
Jozef Vass
Transport Coordination Manager BSW
Department of Transport
Jane Wager
Coordinator Community Development
City of Greater Geelong
Charles Waingold
Manager Strategic Transport Planning
Public Transport Victoria
Paul Westcott
Convenor Geelong Branch
Public Transport Users Association