Environment Pillar

The G21 Environment Pillar aims to protect and enhance our environment while balancing regional communities’ needs by:

  • promoting sustainable best-fit land use
  • achieving quality stated emission targets
  • being national leaders in water efficiency
  • identifying and acknowledging natural and cultural heritage
  • protecting our bays, coasts and estuaries
  • ensuring no further loss of biodiversity.

Priority Projects

Pillar Projects

The G21 Environment Pillar projects support the objectives of ‘The G21 Geelong Region Plan – A sustainable growth strategy’ and are owned and delivered by a variety of regional organisations. Current Projects are:

Latest Pillar Activity

Help develop a vision for protecting the rivers of the Barwon.
An update from the July 2019 Environment Pillar meeting.
Powered by 100 per cent renewable energy, a new electric vehicle fast charging station on our Surf Coast will charge an electric vehicle in under 15 minutes – the fastest of any charger in Australia.

Working Groups

The Environment Pillar has Working Groups of experts who meet to discuss and plan specific Pillar Projects.

  • Renewable Energy & Emissions Working Group

For more information

Email Kate.Sullivan@barwonwater.vic.gov.au
or fill in our contact form.

Pillar Leadership

Kate Sullivan (Chair)
General Manager Strategy & Partnerships
Barwon Water
Rodney Thomas (Deputy Chair)
Manager Environment & Waste Services
City of Greater Geelong
Stewart Anderson
Manager Environment & Community Safety
Colac Otway Shire
Cr Stephanie Asher
City of Greater Geelong
Cr David Bell
Surf Coast Shire
Jan Calaby
Geelong Environment Council
Elaine Carbines
Chief Executive Officer
G21 Geelong Region Alliance
Emma Connan
Manager Organisational Sustainability
Deakin University
Dan Cowdell
Project Coordinator
Geelong Sustainability Group
Paul Davis
General Manager
Mat Dickens
Chief Executive Officer
Corio Waste Management
Cr David Evans
Golden Plains Shire
Maddie Glynn
Manager Community Liaison & Education
Barwon Coast Committee
Carl Gray
Team Leader Compliance & Strategy Support
Environment Protection Authority
Katie Hart
Planning & Education Manager
Great Ocean Road Coast Committee
Cr Stephen Hart
Colac Otway Shire
Tim Head
Business Development Manager
Peter Lawson
Regional Manager Environment & Natural Resources
Department of Environment, Land, Water & Planning
Rod Lowther
Geelong Field Naturalist Club
Cr Sarah Mansfield
City of Greater Geelong
Louise Osborne
R&D Partnerships and Strategic Relationships Analyst
Mark Paganini
Manager Eastern Victoria
Conservation Volunteers Australia
Andrea Pape
Strategic Coordinator for BSW
Sustainability Victoria
Vicki Perrett
Geelong Sustainability
Rebecca Petit-Bramwell
Environmental Sustainability Officer
Deakin University
Alastair Phillips
Director Conservation
Greening Australia
Ashley Pittard
Executive Officer
Barwon South West Waste & Resource Recovery Group
Steven Reddington
Senior Environmental Planner
Barwon Water
Martin Roberts
Environment Services Team Leader
Golden Plains Shire
Cr Les Rowe
Golden Plains Shire
Tracey Slatter
Managing Director
Barwon Water
Kate Smallwood
Emergency Management Fire Project Coordinator
Surf Coast Shire
Julia Stanley
Senior Climate Change Planner
Barwon Water